top of page

iSimangaliso Wetlands Park

The iSimangaliso Wetland Park was listed as South Africa’s first World Heritage Site in December 1999 in recognition of its superlative natural beauty and unique global values.


​​The 332 000 hectare Park contains three major lake systems, eight interlinking ecosystems, 700 year old fishing traditions, most of South Africa’s remaining swamp forests, Africa’s largest estuarine system, 526 bird species and 25 000 year-old coastal dunes – among the highest in the world. The name iSimangaliso means miracle and wonder, which aptly describes this unique place.

​Come and experience the diverse experiences in the 10 jewels that make up the iSimangaliso Wetland Park. Enjoy the endless beaches that stretch 220 kilometers from Maphelane in the south to Kosi Bay on the Mozambique border, view game on self-guided or guided trails and routes on the foothills of the Lubombo mountains in uMkhuze or in the coastal forests and rolling grasslands of Lake St Lucia’s Eastern Shores. See the spectacular coral reefs and colourful underwater life whilst diving or snorkeling or embark on adventures ranging from kayak trips to horse rides.

Fast Facts on the iSimangaliso Wetland Park


Lake St Lucia is Africa’s largest estuary

The greatest congregation of hippo & crocodiles in South Africa

The last significant breeding ground for the giant leatherback and loggerhead turtles

8 interlinking ecosystems

3 major lake systems

350 kms of water surface

220 kms of coastline and beaches

190 kms of marine reserve

100 species of coral

1200 species of fish

25 000 year old coastal dunes

700 years of traditional fish traps

36 snake species

80 dragonfly species

110 butterfly species

526 bird species


Read more about iSimangaliso on the UNESCO website...


bottom of page